Webinar Invite - SPCs: Latest news, trends and "what next?" - 17 September 2020

Webinar Invite - SPCs: Latest news, trends and "what next?" - 17 September 2020

This webinar, with guest speakers Tom Mitcheson QC from 3 New Square and Dr Lawrence Cullen from the UK Intellectual Property Office, and hosted by Kristina Cornish and  Nicole Jadeja, will highlight the latest SPC news from the perspectives of prosecution, enforcement and policy. We will:

  • Consider the current trends in the prosecution of SPCs, as well as portfolio management to maximise patent term extension

  • Debate the implications of recent case law on obtaining and enforcing SPCs, the direction of travel in the courts, what the future might hold for particular types of claims and where future battle grounds lie

  • Hear the latest from the UK IPO

This webinar will have something practical to offer everyone involved in the world of SPCs, including those who live and breathe SPCs as well as those looking to file SPCs for the first time. 
 

Speakers

Tom Mitcheson, QC
Lead barrister/trial lawyer with experience of handling contentious SPC matters before the English courts and before the CJEU.

Dr Lawrence Cullen
Deputy Director, Biotechnology,  Biopharmaceuticals and SPCs at the UK Intellectual Property Office where he coordinates the team responsible for examination & grant of applications for SPCs. He acts as a hearing officer at the IPO and has been involved in a number of patent and SPC cases before the UK courts and the CJEU.

Kristina Cornish
Life sciences European patent attorney at Kilburn & Strode LLP with experience handling SPC filings throughout Europe and working with lawyers litigating SPCs in the courts, including the CJEU.

Nicole Jadeja
Life sciences lawyer at Pinsent Masons LLP with experience litigating SPCs in the English courts and before the CJEU.

If you would like to join us for what promises to be an interesting and lively discussion, please register below:

When:
17 September 2020

Europe & UK
4:30pm - 5:30pm BST
5:30pm – 6:30pm CET

USA
8:30am – 9:30am PDT
11:30am – 12:30pm EDT

Webinar
If you would like to join us for what promises to be an interesting and lively discussion, please register at the bottom of this page. 

Register here

Register

Cookies improve the way our website works. By using this website you are agreeing to our use of cookies. For more information see our cookie policy I accept